maiotank.blogg.se

Sandisk encryption
Sandisk encryption













sandisk encryption

On the other hand, when I later use the hard disk, I do not need to run the Disk Utility any more. But I have only used Apple's Disk Utility to manage them and only Apple encryption provided through Apple's macOS.Įncryption by the Disk Utility - is it software or hardware encryption? Hi, I would like to ask two questions about the encryption of an external hard drive using the Disk Utility: 1) When I encrypt an external hard drive (HDD) by formatting it as “Mac OS Extended (Journaled, Encrypted)”, what kind of encryption is it? Is it software or hardware encryption? On one hand it looks like it is software encryption, because I am using a software (namely the Disk Utility) to encrypt the disk. I have had good experience with these products. I am a big fan of Western Digital products, both their mechanical external drives as well as SSDs. Usually they simply did not make sure about updating the drive software and firmware before updating their MacOS. People have posted about this in the Apple Discussions. The penalty of an error here is very high - being unable to access the drive, usually temporarily, but in some cases it has been reported to be long term.

sandisk encryption

The problem with doing this is that before installing any updates to your MacOS, you will need to ensure that it is compatible with the Western Digital software and firmware, or that you have updated that software/firmware in advance. To utilize the Sandisk (Western Digital) encryption, you have to install the Western Digital software on your Mac and link it to the drive through firmware. The drive you have is an extremely fast drive. SanDisk’s blurb about “hardware encryption” has me wondering if I should have used their software instead of the mac’s? Im skeptical about their software.Ĭan I assume that my method just uses the slower software method, OR is macOS smart enough to talk to the hardware chip on my SSD? Hi, I bought the SanDisk 1TB “extreme portable SSD” and used macOS to format & encrypt it in the following manner: APFS /encrypted.















Sandisk encryption